top of page

Cat Called

My freshmen year of high school I was walking back to the locker rooms from P.E. As I have naturally curly hair, I had straightened my hair that day but we had been running so I was self conscious about how it looked, especially in a pony tail. As I was walking back with my friends, a boy cat called me. I rejected him as nicely as I could to which he responded by calling me "fucking ugly" when I turned around. I laughed it off but it really hurt. Once we got back to the locker room, word spread quickly of what had happened and I experienced something I will never forget: girl power. I had girls coming up to me telling me not to believe him, that I was beautiful. It made me feel so good knowing that when it comes down to it, girls can unite to build each other up. I have grown from that experience and now remember it not as the time someone called me ugly, but as the time women built each other up.

Recent Posts

See All

Money Problems

This year my mom got fired from her job. It's really flipped my life upside down. She's a single mom living in southern California raising a daughter. It's not easy for her. We now have to sell our h

bottom of page